Rugby League Ireland

Official Home of Irish Rugby League



Page title The Summer Switch
Schools Origin Decider Preview

Schools Origin Decider Preview

14th May 2014, 7:36


Ulster Coach Wayne Kelly named his team for the final game of the Schools of Origin series making several positional and enforced changes.


James Milligan is forced to the sideline with a shoulder injury in the previous outing so Mark Pyper takes his berth on the wing. Michael Whittal comes in to the centre so Daryl Hand is given the full backs role and Phil Steele reverts to his more natural position on the wing. Adam Anderson comes off the bench after a fine display last time out and takes over from Conor McNeill in the halves.



Up front Ross Bingham gets his chance at prop with Jake Gardner dropping back into second row and Johnny Mooney again skippering the side form loose forward.



A strong bench, with the inclusion of Adam McBurney, will no doubt play a factor into the outcome of this game.



Meanwhile Leinster coaching pair Conor Kelly and Anthony McCreery are able to name a full strength squad for their home fixture.



Only three changes have been made to the side that beat Ulster in Belfast two weeks ago with Mark Rogers, Fionn McCarthy and Paul Bolger coming into the starting line up.



Exciting fullback Adam Brodigan along with talented centre Sean Hayes caused Ulster problems in the last game and will be players to look out for. 



A win of any sort for Leinster will see them crowned inaugural Schools Origin Champions while Ulster need to win by more than 23 points to grab that crown.



Kick off is at 2pm in Boyne Rugby Club Drogheda. 



Ulster Team:

  1. Daryll Hand
  2. Phil Steele
  3. Johnny Dunlop
  4. Michael Whittal
  5. Mark Pyper
  6. Adam Anderson
  7. Ryan Duddy
  8. Ross Bingham
  9. Thomas McGookin
  10. Mark Bishop
  11. Jake Gardner
  12. Tom Campbell
  13. Johnny Mooney ©
  14. Ben Cullen
  15. Johnny Creighton
  16. Ty Mackness
  17. Adam McBurney

Head Coach: Wayne Kelly

Leinster Team:

  1. Adam Brodigan
  2. Fionn McCarthy
  3. Sean Hayes
  4. Mark Rogers
  5. Luke Hasle O’Brien
  6. Cian Harrington
  7. Conor Redmond
  8. Ryan Healy (Captain)
  9. Emmett Banahan
  10. Paul Bolger
  11. Liam McMahon
  12. Adam Carberry
  13. Cathal Duffy
  14. Nick Smith
  15. Cathal Downey
  16. Darren Madden
  17. Tom Burke
  18. Craig Black

Leinster Head Coach: Conor Kelly

Assistant Coach: Anthony McCreery


East Coast FM
Bonnington Hotel
royal hotel